Patrol Bureau F.A.Q.
This section has been created to answer common questions about some of the Yuma County Sheriff's Office procedures and/or services. If you need further assistance, please call (928) 783-4427.
How do I know if I should dial 9-1-1 or the regular police non-emergency number?
Why did it take two hours for an officer to come to my house when my house was burglarized?
What can we do about speeding on our street?
If I suspect drug activity, a drug house or meth lab in my neighborhood, who do I call?
How can I get information or sign up for the Watch Your Car program?
Where can I get information about concealed weapons permits?
How can I verify if a firearm that I purchased or was given to me is not stolen?
Where do I find out about motor vehicle registration?
I want to start a Neighborhood Watch in my area. Who do I contact for information?
I would like to engrave my property. Where do I get an engraver?
How do I send a commendation about an officer?
How do I submit a complaint about an officer?
How do I find out about sex offenders living in my neighborhood?
Who do I call to report graffiti?
My neighbor's dog is always barking. What can I do or who can I call?
Can my dog(s) or cat(s) run loose?
Where can I obtain information about off-highway vehicle laws and regulations?
Where can I obtain information about the Arizona boating laws and regulations?
Where can I go to dispose of expired, unused or unwanted prescription drugs?
Is there a noise ordinance in Yuma County that would apply to loud music?
What is the rule about residential camp fires or burn barrels in the Foothills?
Is there an Arizona state law pertaining to pets left in hot vehicles?
What can I do to help a dog or pet left in a hot vehicle?
Livestock Crimes Unit
What constitutes animal cruelty in Arizona?
If I suspect abuse against an animal, who do I contact?
Is shade required in Arizona for livestock?
Does the Sheriff's Office do brand inspections?
If I have a horse and want to give it away, is there a rescue facility in Yuma County that I can contact?
How long will my vehicle be impounded?
How do I get my vehicle back?
How much will it cost to get my vehicle back?
What if someone other than the owner was driving the vehicle when it was impounded?
What if I own the vehicle but have not yet transferred the title into my name? Can I still get the car back?
What will happen if I cannot claim my vehicle?
Can I get my vehicle back before the 30 days are up?
If the owner was driving on a suspended license but has since had the license restored to valid status, can the vehicle be released prior to the 30-day period?
Would I still have to pay fees and charges if the vehicle is released early to me?
At the end of the 30-days, can I just go to the towing company and get my vehicle?
If I am found “not guilty” on my criminal or traffic charges will that affect the impoundment of my vehicle?
Contact us for more info